skip to main content

The Los Angeles Section is fortunate to have eleven active student chapters within its boundaries.  The success of each of these student chapters is dependant on the Faculty and Practitioner advisors that are assigned to the student chapter. 

The faculty advisor for the student chapter is a volunteer position consisting of a member of the faculty that advises the student chapter on activities, provides guidance for working within the university, and provides leadership for the students within the student chapter.

Each of the Faculty Advisors and their contact information is shown below:

Michael Nalbandian, Ph.D.

California Baptist University

Michael Nalbandian, Ph.D.

California Baptist University
8432 Magnolia Avenue
Riverside, CA 92504

Email: mnalbandian@calbaptist.edu
Phone: (951) 552-8841

Daniel Jansen, Ph.D., P.E., FACI, M.ASCE

Cal Poly San Luis Obispo

Daniel Jansen, Ph.D., P.E., FACI, M.ASCE, Ph.D., P.E., FACI, M.ASCE

1 Grand Ave.
San Luis Obispo, CA 93407-0353

Email: djansen@calpoly.edu
Phone: 805-756-2509

Seema Shah-Fairbank

Cal Poly Pomona

Seema Shah-Fairbank, Ph.D, P.E.

President-Elect

CE Dept., Bldg. 9, Rm. 421
3801 W. Temple Ave.
Pomona, CA 91768

Email: shahfairbank@cpp.edu
Phone: (909) 869-3954

Pratanu Ghosh, Ph.D.

Cal State University Fullerton

Pratanu Ghosh, Ph.D.

Civil and Environmental Engineering
800 N State College Blvd
California State University, Fullerton CA 92831

Email: pghosh@fullerton.edu
Phone: (657) 278-4602

Lisa Star, Ph.D., P.E., M. ASCE

California State University, Long Beach

Lisa Star, Ph.D., P.E., M. ASCE, Ph.D., P.E., M. ASCE

Dept. of Civil Engineering & Construction Management
1250 Bellflower Blvd.
Long Beach, CA 90840

Email: lisa.marie.star@gmail.com
Phone: 562-985-5118

Mehran Mazari, Ph.D., A.M.ASCE

California State University, Los Angeles

Mehran Mazari, Ph.D., A.M.ASCE, Ph.D., A.M.ASCE

Department of Civil Engineering
5151 State University Dr.
Los Angeles, CA 90032

Email: mmazari2@calstatela.edu
Phone: 323-332-1823

Rais Ahmad, Ph.D

California State University, Northridge

Rais Ahmad, Ph.D, Ph.D

18111 Nordhoff Street
Northridge, CA 91330

Email: rais.ahmad@csun.edu
Phone: (818) 677-3419

Joel Lanning, Ph.D

University of California, Irvine

Joel Lanning, Ph.D, Ph.D

Email: jtlannin@uci.edu
Phone: 949-824-3765

Jonathon Stewart, Ph.D.

University of California, Los Angeles

Jonathon Stewart, Ph.D., Ph.D

Email: jstewart@seas.ucla.edu
Phone: (310) 206-2990

Joseph Weber, Ph.D.

Loyola Marymount University

Joseph Weber, Ph.D.

Department of Civil Engineering and Environmental Science
1 LMU Drive
Los Angeles, CA 90045

Email: Joseph.Weber@lmu.edu
Phone: 310.338.7358

Amy Rechenmacher, Ph.D

University of Southern California

Amy Rechenmacher, Ph.D, Ph.D

3620 South Vermont Ave
Los Angeles, CA 90089
USC Mail Code: 2531

Email: arechenm@usc.edu
Phone: (213) 740-3615